The EU Prize for Women Innovators 2022 is Now Open for Submissions

Are you the next EU Woman Innovator? The deadline for applications for the EU Prize for Women Innovators 2022 is 18 August 2022 at 17.00 (CET). Make sure to submit your application on time to have the opportunity to distinguish yourself among the leading female innovators in Europe.

Here is what you need to know about this innovation competition.

What is the EU Prize for Women Innovators?

This prize celebrates Horizon Europe-associated countries. They must be founders of a successful and innovative company that has introduced innovation to the market.

The managers of the EU Prize for Women Innovators 2022 are the European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency. Additionally, an independent expert jury decides the winners.

See last year’s EU Prize for Women Innovators 2021.

What are the EU Prize for Women Innovators 2022 prize categories?

The women innovators who submit their applications can compete in the following two prize categories:

  1. Women Innovators Category – This category awards three prizes of €100.000 each to the most talented and innovative women across the EU and the Horizon Associated countries.
  2. Rising Innovators Category – Three prizes of €50.000 each are awarded to the most promising young innovators under 35 years old.

However, please be aware that you can only participate in only one of the above categories.  

Who can apply for the Women Innovators 2022 prize?

Those who are eligible to apply for the prize must fulfil the following criteria:

  • They need to be women
  • They must have an established company in one of the EU Member States or Horizon Europe Associated country
  • Their company must be innovative and have been founded at least 2 years before the call year.

Additionally, there is an age limit of 35 when it comes to applications under the Rising Innovators category, while there is no age limit for the Women Innovators.

The award criteria

The winners of the women innovators prize 2022 will be judged on the following three award criteria:

  1. Breakthrough Innovation – How innovative are the products or services provided by the applicant’s company in the EU market?
  2. Impact – What is the real impact of that product or service on solving societal needs and challenges? Does it benefit people or the planet?
  3. Inspiration – The applicant must be an integral part of the success of the company and should be a role model for other women and girls.

Find the above open calls for the EU Prize for Women Innovators on the EUcalls database. 

You can apply for the Women Innovators Prize here

You can apply for the Rising Innovators Prize here.